Main Content for Page

Remarkable People Receives More Accolades
The series, produced by Jean Walkinshaw, was honored with two Emmy nominations.

Remarkable People also recently received three Telly Awards for Remarkable People: Jim Whittaker and Dianne Roberts, Remarkable People: Stefani Smith and Remarkable People: Pat Wright.


The program also received an Award of Distinction from the Communicator Awards for Remarkable People: Dr. Merrill Spencer.


The Emmy nominations recognized the Remarkable People series in category of Historical/Cultural Program Special and in the category of Documentary: Cultural/Historical for the single program Remarkable People: Jim Whittaker and Dianne Roberts. The Remarkable People series is primarily written, edited and produced by Walkinshaw, along with Jeff Gentes.

"At 82-years of age it is absolutely marvelous to be in the running for an Emmy," Walkinshaw remarked. "I say this as an encouragement to others, especially women. I am so fortunate to still have a vital career and I intend to keep on going."

"Jean Walkinshaw is a giant in our industry and we feel so honored to have Jean's work shown on our airwaves," says SCCtv General Manager John Sharify. "Her show is called Remarkable People' but it is Jean who is remarkable for her storytelling skills and passion for her craft".

Jean Walkinshaw began her 45 years in broadcasting in 1963 at KING TV with the show Telescope. She went on to produce a weekly series, Face to Face. Jean began producing documentaries at KCTS in 1970, for both local broadcast, nationally on PBS and internationally on NHK in Japan, Super Channel in Europe, British Airways and Armed Forces Television Services. Her documentary shoots took her around the globe, to Russia, Ghana, West Africa and Japan.

Walkinshaw is no stranger to awards. She has won numerous awards including eight Northwest Regional Emmys; John F. Kennedy Journalism Award; Ohio State Award; National Press Women Award; New York, Chicago, and American Festival Awards; and four Best of the West Awards. In 1992, she was inducted into the NATAS Silver Circle for 25 years of significant contribution to the television industry and community.